//
you're reading...
Journalism Experience, Uncategorized

Could Working for Free Now Lead to Better Future Prospects in the Long Term..???

Realising that it could take me an awfully long time to break into journalism with the current level of competition and with many job losses, I have decided that rather than getting a job which won’t help me get into journalism but that pays is I’m going to volunteer in a number of capacities that will help me get a job in the industry.

But, this means relying on the state, my partner and family for a little while, when I’m so used to being independent its a real struggle- and a real risk, because working for free may never actually pay off.

So this week I’m in discussion about starting two new unpaid roles.

Firstly, I’m seeing a local volunteer group who are funded by the council about helping them gain more press and also more positive press for a group of individuals in my local town. I’m organising some social media for them and the possibly some blogs, as well as traditional press releases.

Secondly, I’m hoping to be a journalist at my local radio station, creating and presenting news output on a weekend.

I’m hoping that with the blog I have, the reviews site I write for, my course work, the news production/public relations/radio journalism experience I already have as well as my new volunteering ventures this will be enough for somebody somewhere to pay me to be a journalist!

Of course I will need more mainstream industry placements, which are also reasonably hard to get hold of unfortunately! Fingers crossed my volunteer work will help them take me on.

I’m hoping that by volunteering and working for free for the foreseeable future I’ll end up in a better position in the long term.

I really hope I’m making the right decision…

Wish me luck!

About charisscottholm

I'm a recent graduate currently working in news production. Hope you find my blogs, features and comment pieces interesting and entertaining.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

